Home
| United States
| United Nations
| European Union
| Minnesota
| Canada
| Guides
| Statistics
| Search Tools
| Related
Debates
- British debates are the official records of what is said (transcripts of the speeches and discussions) in Parliament.
- They are comparable to the Congressional Record.
- Since 1803 the debates have been printed in six series.
- Prior to 1909 the Debates were unofficial and not verbatim records and the House of Lords debates were published as an appendix to the House of Commons Debates.
- There are indexes at the end of each volume and indexing is by subject and by speaker.
- Starting with the third series in 1830/31 indexes can be found at the end of each session.
| House of Commons | ||
|---|---|---|
| Coverage | Title | |
| (especially valuable for years up to 1660) | Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England from the Earliest Times to the Dissolution of the Convention Parliament that Restored King Charles II (also known as Old Parliamentary History) Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement (Gov Docs) J301 .H18x 1751 |
|
| 1066-1803 | Cobbett’s Parliamentary History of England: from the Norman Conquest, in 1066 to the year 1803 Location: Check MNCAT |
|
| 1066-1803 | Parliamentary History of England from the Earliest Period to the Year 1803, from which last-mentioned epoch it is continued downwards in the work entitled "Hansard’s Parliamentary Debates." Location: Check MNCAT |
|
| 1667-1694 | Debates of the House of Commons from the year 1667 to the year 1694 (also known as Grey’s Debates and complements Old Parliamentary History) Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement J301 .H24 |
|
| 1668-1742 | Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England : from the year 1668 to the present time Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement (Gov Docs) J301 .H19x 1739 Location: Law Library Rare Books J301 .H2 1742x |
|
| 1680-1743 | History and Proceedings of the House of Commons from the Restoration to the Present Times Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement J301.K2 H56 |
|
| 1743-1774 | Debates and Proceedings of the British House of Commons Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement J301 .H315 |
|
| 1751-1761 | Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England being a Faithful Account of all the Most Remarkable Transactions in Parliament from the Earliest Times Location: Law Library Storage (Microforms) Mfilm Z2011 .E34x 1984 reel 3496, no. 1 |
|
| 1774-1787 | Parliamentary Register, or History of the Proceedings and Debates of the House of Commons and the House of Lords - complements Cobbett’s by printing a fuller version of some material. Location: Check MNCAT |
|
| Parliamentary Debates - Also known as Cobbett's or Hansard’s Parliamentary Debates. | ||
| 1803-1908 | Location: Check MNCAT | |
| 1829-1908 | Location: Check MNCAT | |
| 1909-1984/85 (includes index) | Location: Wilson Government Publications Library Row DD | |
| 1919-1942/1943 | Location: IN STORAGE: MN Lib Access Ctr 328.422 G786ec | |
| 1970-1981 | Location: IN STORAGE: MN Lib Access Ctr 328.422 G786ec | |
| 1988/89-2001/2002 | Location: Wilson Library Gov Pub (Reference) Mfiche Microfiche Cabinet 10 & 11 | |
| 1988/89- | Parliamentary Debates (Hansards) | |
| House of Lords | ||
| Coverage | Title | |
| (especially valuable for years up to 1660) | Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England from the Earliest Times to the Dissolution of the Convention Parliament that Restored King Charles II (also known as Old Parliamentary History) Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement (Gov Docs) J301 .H18x 1751 |
|
| 1066-1803 | Cobbett’s Parliamentary History of England: from the Norman Conquest, in 1066 to the year 1803 Location: Check MNCAT |
|
| 1066-1803 | Parliamentary History of England from the Earliest Period to the Year 1803, from which last-mentioned epoch it is continued downwards in the work entitled "Hansard’s Parliamentary Debates." Location: Check MNCAT |
|
| 1667-1694 | Debates of the House of Commons from the year 1667 to the year 1694 (also known as Grey’s Debates and complements Old Parliamentary History) Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement J301 .H24 |
|
| 1668-1742 | Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England : from the year 1668 to the present time Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement (Gov Docs) J301 .H19x 1739 Location: Law Library Rare Books J301 .H2 1742x |
|
| 1680-1743 | History and Proceedings of the House of Commons from the Restoration to the Present Times Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement J301.K2 H56 |
|
| 1743-1774 | Debates and Proceedings of the British House of Commons Location: Wilson Library Annex Sub-Basement J301 .H315 |
|
| 1751-1761 | Parliamentary or Constitutional History of England being a Faithful Account of all the Most Remarkable Transactions in Parliament from the Earliest Times Location: Law Library Storage (Microforms) Mfilm Z2011 .E34x 1984 reel 3496, no. 1 |
|
| 1774-1787 | Parliamentary Register, or History of the Proceedings and Debates of the House of Commons and the House of Lords - complements Cobbett’s by printing a fuller version of some material. Location: Check MNCAT |
|
| Parliamentary Debates - Also known as Cobbett's or Hansard’s Parliamentary Debates. | ||
| 1803-1908 | Location: Check MNCAT | |
| 1829-1908 | Location: Check MNCAT | |
| 1909-1984/85 (includes index) | Location: Wilson Government Publications Library (Row DD) | |
| 1909-1942/1943 | Location: IN STORAGE: MN Lib Access Ctr 328.422 G786ec | |
| 1962/1963-1984/1985 | Location: IN STORAGE: MN Lib Access Ctr 328.422 G786el | |
| 2000/2001--2001/2002 | Location: Wilson Library Gov Pub (Reference) Mfiche Microfiche Cabinet 10 & 11 | |
| 1994- | Parliamentary Debates (Hansards) | |
|
|
|
|
|


