Home
| United States
| United Nations
| European Union
| Minnesota
| Canada
| Guides
| Statistics
| Search Tools
| Related
- What does LexisNexis Congressional look like?
- What will I find in LexisNexis Congressional?
- What Else Should I Know?
How to Read the Default Results Screen
About Committee Prints
How to Search for Regulations
How do I Find Witness Testimony?
How to Use the Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws Search Form
Using the Help / Popup Blocking
What does LexisNexis Congressional look like?
This is the home page of LexisNexis Congressional:
Tips
- If you're new to LexisNexis Congressional, you may prefer to look at the Site Map to see which links you want to select:

Tips
- Choose "Search by Number" or "Get a Document" if you already have a full or partial citation.
- Choose the "Keyword Search", "Basic Search" or "Advanced Search" the rest of the time.
- Clicking on the "i" images next to each link takes you to help.
What will I find in LexisNexis Congressional?
| Content | Coverage | Updated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bill Text | 1989- | Daily when Congress is in session | LexisNexis |
| Bill Tracking (includes CRS Bill Digest) | 1989- | Daily when Congress is in session | LexisNexis |
| Campaign Contributions from Individuals and PACs | 1987- | Monthly during even-numbered years; quarterly during odd-numbered years | FEC³ |
| Campaign Financial Data | 1989- | Monthly during even-numbered years; quarterly during odd-numbered years | FEC³ |
| CIS Indexing &Abstracts | 1970- | Monthly | LexisNexis |
| CIS Legislative Histories | 1970- | Annually | LexisNexis |
| Code of Federal Regulations | Current | Every Two Weeks | Michie |
| Committee Information | Current | As Available | LexisNexis |
| Committee Reports | 1990- | Daily when Congress is in session | LexisNexis |
| Congressional Committee Schedules | 1996- | Daily | FNS² |
| Congressional Indexes, 1789-1969 | 1789-1969 | Archive | LexisNexis |
| Congressional Record | 1985- | Daily when Congress is in session | LexisNexis |
| Congressional Testimony | 1988- | Daily | FDCH¹ and FNS² |
| Federal Register | 1980- | Daily | LexisNexis |
| The Hill | 1995- | Weekly | The Hill |
| Hot Bills and Topics | Current | Monthly | LexisNexis |
| House & Senate Documents | 1995- | Monthly | LexisNexis |
| Key Votes in Congress | 1987- | As Available | LexisNexis |
| Member Financial Disclosures | 1991- | Annually | LexisNexis |
| Member Information | Current | As Available | LexisNexis |
| Profiling of Congressional Membership | Current | As Available | LexisNexis |
| Public Laws | 1988- | Within two weeks after a law is passed | LexisNexis |
| Roll Call | 1989- | Semi-weekly | Roll Call Inc. |
| Rules of Congress | Current | As Available | LexisNexis |
| Select Committee Prints | 1995- | Monthly | LexisNexis |
| United States Code Service | Current | Monthly | LexisNexis |
| Voting Records in Congress | 1988- | Daily | LexisNexis |
| Washington Post | 1977- | Daily | Washington Post |
¹ Federal Document Clearing House
² Federal News Service
³ Federal Election Commission
How to Read the Default Results Screen
The Default Results Screen looks like this:
About Committee Prints
The official committee prints publication category began when committees started to issue printed versions of their own internal working papers. Today, committee prints include a wide variety of publications approved and issued by committees or portions of committees, such as majority or minority staff. Prints issued by only a portion of the committee are normally identified as such on the cover. A committee print can contain anything relevant to the legislative and oversight functions of Congress.LexisNexis Congressional includes numbered and unnumbered prints which originated in print format, as well as similar materials which were never printed, but originated on committee websites.
In addition to official committee prints, LexisNexis Congressional includes in the print category other congressional publications that are not issued by committees, but which contain research value content similar to the content contained in committee prints. These include publications of the Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, Congressional Budget Office, Government Accountability Office, and the former Office of Technology Assessment.
An example of an unnumbered print and a related publication can be seen below:
How to Search for Regulations
How do I Find Witness Testimony?
There are two ways to find witness testimony:- On the Default Results Screen, enter the witness's name last name first and then the first name, e.g. "Logan Jeffrey".
- Use the Advanced Search Screen as shown below:
Select the Witness option in the dropdown list and wait for the page to reload.

When the page has reloaded, enter in the witness's first and last name (and modify the date as needed).

Tip
- If you're having trouble finding the testimony of someone through the basic search or witness option, try the Advanced Search and select "all fields including full text".
How to Use the Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws Search Form
Tip
- Bills become Public Laws which are codified in the US Code.
- Bill Tracking and Legislative Histories are very similar. The difference is that there are only Legislative Histories for those bills that become law, but there's Bill Tracking for every bill introduced in both houses since 1989.
- Therefore, if you don't get results from a Legislative History search, try Bill Tracking. The bill might not have passed or passed so recently that the Legislative History hasn't been published yet.
- From Legislative Histories you can get to Public Laws and vice versa
- From Public Laws you can get to the US Code and vice versa.
Using the Help / Popup Blocking
- If you want to use the Help in LexisNexis Congressional and you have a popup blocker running, be sure to make an exception for this site or you won't be able to see the Help.
|
|
|
|
|


