185x140Header
Home  |  United States  |  United Nations  |  European Union  |  Minnesota  |  Canada  |  Guides  |  Statistics  |  Search Tools  |  Related
Home > Guides > Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Reports

Introduction

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.

The Government Publications Library's (GPL) FBIS Daily Reports microfiche collection goes from the mid-1970s through the fall of 1996, when all publication in paper and microfiche was halted. The exact starting and ending dates vary slightly by series.

Using the Indexes:
The Index to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports for the microfiche collection is available in two forms:
  • A CD-ROM index which covers 1979 through late 1996, with all dates and regions in one index, and
  • Quarterly paper indexes for each of the FBIS regions which cover the mid-1970s through late 1996

The paper indexes are shelved by LC call number in GPL's Indexes section; all the call numbers begin with D.

The Daily Reports are organized into world regions; each report series has its own three-letter code that is used for identification and for filing the microfiche reports. The regional groupings and names have changed over the years; when last issued in paper, the regions were:

Locating the Full-Text Translations (1970s - 1996)

When you have retrieved one or more references from the paper or CD-ROM indexes, your next step is to locate the articles in the library's microfiche files. Whether you use the CD-ROM index or the paper indexes you will need three elements:

For example: Dec 2 93  SOV  025. Microfiche are in cabinets in the Government Publications Library. FBIS reports are filed under the SuDocs number PrEx 7.10: and then by region code and date.

Articles on microfiche can be viewed on microfiche readers in GPL or reproduced in paper at the Wilson Copy Service in the basement of Wilson Library.

Back to Top

Using the World News Connection (1996 to date)

Starting with publications from late 1995, FBIS (and related Joint Publications Research Service or JPRS) reports are available online in the World News Connection Available only to students, faculty, and staff of the U of M unless accessing from a U of M campus library.. While some reports from as early as 1994 can be found on WNC, coverage is relatively complete starting with 1996, and the database is updated continuously. The World News Connection provides both an index and the full text of the reports.

WNC provides three searching options, each with online help:

Back to Top



ADD TO DEL.ICIO.US | ADD TO DIGG | ADD TO FURL | ADD TO REDDIT | ADD TO TECHNORATI FAVORITES | ADD TO GOOGLE