185x140Header
Home  |  United States  |  United Nations  |  European Union  |  Minnesota  |  Canada  |  Guides  |  Statistics  |  Search Tools  |  Related
Home > Guides > What Shelf is My Book On?

The Government Publications Library is currently undergoing a project to reorganize our collection. We apologize for any inconvenience during this time. Please use the floor plan and guide below to help you find your documents.

If additional help is needed, please stop by the Basement Service Point Desk (Government Publications Reference hours are 10am - 4pm, Monday - Friday.) or ask a Library Staff member for assistance.

This guide will help you go from a location - TC Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) C 3.134: - in a library catalog record to the correct row in the Government Publications Library in the basement of Wilson Library. Rows are numbered in a clockwise direction around the room.

Special Notes:

Click here for a Word document of the Government Publications floor plan.

If the Location is: Go to Row(s): Check It Out?
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Canadian Docs) Rows 41-44 Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Desk Ref) Ask at Basement Service Desk No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (General CDROM) CDROM Cabinets (near row 18, first drawer) Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (General Collection) Rows 34-40 / Call Numbers by Row Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (General Reference) Rows 25-26 No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (IGO Collection) Rows 36-38 (arranged by organization and title) Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (LC Collection) Folio Row AA (north of Rows 47-53) Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Legal) Row 33 No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Map Case) Map Case (near Row 81) No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Office) Ask at Basement Service Desk No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Reference) Mfiche Microfiche cabinets (near Row 114) No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Reference) Mfilm Rows DD (central aisle near Rows 71-72) No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Ref Indexes) Rows 27-28 No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (UN Docs) Rows 13-27 / Call Numbers by Row Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US CDROM) CDROM Cabinets (near row 18) Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Census) Rows 111-114 (arranged by year) 1790-1940 - No
1950-1990 - for 3 days
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Congress Serials)
Congressional Record Row 107 No
Congressional Record Index Row 27 No
Serial Set Quarto Row 108 Yes (3 Day Loan)
Serial Set (note) Rows 108-111 Yes (3 Day Loan)
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Desk Ref) Ask at Basement Service Desk No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) Rows 45-104 / Call Numbers by Row Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) Flat Row BB-CC (near Rows 63-70) Yes
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Legal) Rows 29-32 No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Map Case) Map case (near Row 81) No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) Mfiche Microfiche cabinets (near Row 114) No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Ref) Row 25 No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Ref Indexes) Rows 29-32 No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Vertical File) Filing Cabinets (near Row 81) No
Wilson Library Gov Pub (Vertical File) Filing Cabinets (near Row 81) No


General Collection Call Numbers by Row
34A - HC 59.7
35HC 59.8 - HC 681
36HC 682 - HD 9525
37HD 9525 - HG 3942
38HG 3942 - JK 5830
39JK 5831 - KJE 5390
40KJE 5400 - Z

Return to Main List

UN Call Numbers by Row
13 GAOR (General Assembly Official Records)
14 GAOR (General Assembly Official Records) - A/41/PV.
15 A/41/PV - A/C.5
16A/C.5 - E/2000
17 E/2001 - E/ECE/E
18 E/ECE/F - IBRD (International Bank for Reconstruction and Development)
19 ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization) - IMCO (International Maritime Consultative Organization)
20 IMF (International Monetary Fund) - ST/ECAFE/SER.D
21 ST/ECAFE - ST/ESA/STAT/SER.F
22 ST/ESA/STAT - ST/ESCAP
23 ST/GENEVA - ST/SG/CONF.
24 ST/SG/SER.A - UNCHS.H
25 UNCHS.I - UNESCO.12
26 UNESCO.13 - UNESCO.SCIENCE 12
27 UNESCO.SCIENCE - WTO (World Trade Organization)

Return to Main List

US Call Numbers by Row
45 A 1.1: - A 57.38:
46 A 57.38: - A 57.38/51:
47 A 57.44: - AA 4.2:
48 AA 4.8/2: - C 3.164:
49 C 3.164: - C 13.31:
50 C 13.31: - C 55.194:
51 C 55.194: - C 55.287/25-5:
52 C 55.287/25-5: - CC 1.12/3:
53 CC 1.12/3: - D 5.9/3:
54 D 5.9/3: - D 101.9:
55 D 101.9: - D 103.2:
56 D 103.2: - D 202.13:
57 D 202.13: - D 301.6/5:
58 D 301.6/5: - E 2.12/3:
59 E 2.13: - EP 1.23:
60 EP 1.23: - FS 2.57:
61 FS 2.58: - GP 1.1:
62 GP 1.1: - HE 19.202:
63 HE 19.202: - HE 20.2708:
64 HE 20.2710: - HE 20.3173/2:
65 HE 20.3173/2: - HE 20.3917:
66 HE 20.3952: - HE 20.6110/2:
67 HE 20.6110/2: HE 20.7102:
68 HE 20.7102: - HE 20.8211/2:
69 HE 20.8211/2: - HE 23.1017:
70 HE 23.1102: - HH 1.63:
71 HH 1.65: - I 1.98:
72 I 1.98: - I 19.14/2:
73 I 19.15/2: - I 28.37:
74 I 28.37/A: - I 29.88/5:
75 I 29.88/5: - I 53.19/2:
76 I 53.19/2: - IC 1acci.5:
77 IC 1acci.5: - J 1.8/2:
78 J 1.8/2: - J 25.8:
79 J 25.8: - JU 10.1:
80 JU 10.1: - L 1.39/10:
81 L 1.39/10: - L 7.15:
82 L 7.15/2: - LC 19.9:
83 LC 19.9: - P 1.31/10:
84 P 1.31/10: - S 1.1:
85 S 1.1: - S 3.23:
86 S 2.23: - T 1.2:
87 T 1.2: - TC 1.2:
88 TC 1.2: - TD 4.44:
89 TD 4.44: - Y 1.3/3:
90 Y 1.3/3: - Y 3.M 66:9/
91 Y 3.M 66:9/ - Y 4.AG 8/1:
92 Y 4.AG 8/1: - Y 4.AR 5/3:
93 Y 4.AG 5/3: - Y 4.C 43/2:
94 Y 4.C 43/2: - Y 4.EC 7:
95 Y 4.EC 7: - Y 4.EN 2/3:
96 Y 4.EN 2/3: - Y 4.F 76/1:
97 Empty
98 Y 4.F 76/1: - Y 4.G 74/7:
99 Y 4.G 74/7: - Y 4.H 75:
100 Y 4.H 75: - Y 4.IN 8/14:
101 Y 4.IN 8/14: - Y 4.J 89/2:
102 Y 4.J 89/2: - Y 4.L 11/2:
103 Y 4.L 11/2: - Y 4.P 96/10:
104 Y 4.P 96/10: - Y 4.P 96/11:
West Wall (near row 62) Y 4.P96/11: - Z:


Return to Main List

About the Serial Set

Serial Set volumes 8524 (70th Congress, 1st session, 1926) through the present are shelved in GPL. Some volumes of the Serial Set are of significantly larger than the rest, so they will be in TC Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) Flat.

Serial Set volumes 1 (15th Congress, 1st session, 1817) through 8523 (69th Congress, 2nd session, 1925) are in the TC Wilson Library Annex (hours). Annex volumes are rare and may be copied by request only. If you want a copy, bring it to the GPL reference desk during staffed hours and it will be sent for copying. Copies are $0.25 per page, plus Minnesota sales tax. Copies will be ready in 2 days and are picked up at the copy center in Wilson basement (hours).

An alternative to the paper Serial Set is the Libraries' subscription to the Readex Serial Set Collection which provides full text online access to years 1817 - 1975. An alternative to the Annex volumes is the microfiche edition in the Law Library (hours) which can also be copied.

Return to Main List



ADD TO DEL.ICIO.US | ADD TO DIGG | ADD TO FURL | ADD TO REDDIT | ADD TO TECHNORATI FAVORITES | ADD TO GOOGLE