185x140Header
Home  |  United States  |  United Nations  |  European Union  |  Minnesota  |  Canada  |  Guides  |  Statistics  |  Search Tools  |  Related
Home > Guides > Using MNCAT to Find Specialized Materials

This guide uses screenshots to illustrate features handy in searching MNCAT for specialized materials like government publications:

See How do I search for government publications? in the University Libraries' Frequently Asked Questions for step by step instructions.

Advanced Search Form  -  Next

Limit your search to a single government or agency and to a single part of the University Libraries.

Specifying Search Type  -  Next

Search Types: All Keywords, Title Keywords, Author Keywords, All Subject Keywords, LC Subjects, Medical Subjects, Children's LC Subjects, Series Keywords, Publisher Keywords, Publication Place, ISBN (omit hyphens), ISSN (use space, not -), ISMN (Music No.), Music Publisher No., All Notes, Contents, Performers/Credits, URL

The three search boxes available on the Advanced Search Form allow users to create very sophisticated searches. For example:

  • Title Keywords = globalization
  • All Notes = poverty
or
  • Title Keywords = weapons of mass destruction
  • Author Keywords = united states

Limiting by Years, Language, Material Type and Location  -  Return to Top

The search above can be further modified by using the limiting options:
  • Year = 2002
  • Location = Wilson Library
Limit by: All Years, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1991, 1990, 2000-, 1990-1999, 1980-1989, 1970-1979, 1960-1969, 1950-1959, 1940-1949, 1930-1939, 1920-1929, 1910-1919, 1900-1909, 1890-1899, 1880-1889, 1870-1879, 1860-1869, 1850-1859, 1840-1849, 1830-1839, 1820-1829, 1810-1819, 1800-1809, 1776-1799, 1751-1775, 1726-1750, 1700-1725, 1676-1699, 1651-1675, 1626-1650, 1600-1625, 1551-1599, 1500-1550, 1451-1499, 1400-1450 Limit by: All Languages, Arabic, Bengali, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Ancient (to 1453), Greek, Modern (1453- ), Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Marathi, Norwegian, Panjabi, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Sanskrit, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Telugu, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu Limit by: All Material Types, Archival Materials/Manuscripts, Books, Conference Proceedings, Government Publications, Federal/National, Government Publications, International Intergovernmental, Government Publications, State/Provincial, Internet/Electronic Resources, Internet/Electronic Books, Internet/Electronic Journals, Journals/Periodicals/Serials, Maps/Cartographic Materials, Microforms, Music Recordings, Music Scores, Newspapers, Non-Music Sound Recording, Slides/Projected Graphics, Videos/Films/Motion Pictures, Visual Materials Limit by: All Libraries, Andersen Library [Archives/Special Collections], Bio-Medical Library, Law Library, Magrath Library, MLAC [Minnesota Library Access Center], Walter Science and Engineering Library, Wilson Library; ----- Subject & Special Collection Libraries ----- Ames Library of South Asia, Andersen Horticultural Library [Chanhassen], Architecture & Landscape Architecture, Business Reference Service, Charles Babbage Institute Collection, Children's Literature Research Collection, Digital Media Center, Drug Information Service, East Asian Library, Electronic Text Research Center, Entomology, Fisheries & Wildlife Library, Forestry Library, Government Publications Library, Immigration History Research Center, James Ford Bell Library, John R. Borchert Map Library, Journalism Library, Lake Itasca Forestry and Biological Station, Learning Resources Center, Manuscripts Division, Mathematics Library, Music Library, Plant Pathology Library, Social Welfare History Archives, Special Collections and Rare Books, University Archives, Veterinary Medical Library, Wangensteen Historical Library of Biology and Medicine, YMCA Archives; ----- Geographic Groupings of UM Twin Cities Libraries ----- St. Paul Libraries, Minneapolis, East Bank Libraries



ADD TO DEL.ICIO.US | ADD TO DIGG | ADD TO FURL | ADD TO REDDIT | ADD TO TECHNORATI FAVORITES | ADD TO GOOGLE