Most Rand Corporation publications were purchased by the University Libraries through 2005. Rand is now publishing their reports online at Rand Corporation. Since 1992 these have been individually cataloged, and may be located by searching by author or title in MNCAT. Some earlier Rand publications are also cataloged separately and are in MNCAT, but many others do not have full cataloging. Those not cataloged are held in a separate Rand Collection in closed storage, arranged by Rand series number.
If you have a citation to a specific Rand publication, follow these steps:
- Check MNCAT by author or title; if your document is listed, MNCAT will give you the call number and library location.
- If not found, and if you know the Rand series and number, try a Title search in MNCAT under the series name, as
follows:
- N= Collected Rand Notes
- P= Collected Rand Papers
- R= Collected Rand Reports
- RM= Collected Rand Memoranda
- T= Collected Rand Translations
- P= Collected Rand Papers
- N= Collected Rand Notes
- Once you retrieve the series record for your series, the holdings will list all the numbers in that series which are in the Rand Collection. See if your number is listed.
To search Rand publications or identify the series and number:
If you have a citation but not the series, or if you would like to search a complete index of Rand publications, check the Rand Abstracts on the web at Search Abstracts of RAND Documents. The paper index Selected Rand Abstracts is in the Government Publications Library Reference Indexes section, Row A, call number AS36.R284.
To retrieve a publication from the Rand Collection:
This collection is in a closed storage area, but publications can be retrieved for users. They circulate to anyone with current University Libraries borrowing privileges, and are also available for Interlibrary Loan. The MNCAT entry for each series links to the request form.
For assistance in using the Rand Collection, contact the Government Publications Library in the Basement of Wilson Library, 612-624-5073 or
|
|
|
|
|


